Year 6 & 7

Posted on May 3, 2011

0


Year 6

This was the year that started a positive change for me. Although terrified, I did fairly good. I was never popular, I did not have the right ‘look’ for that, but I was liked by those whom I regarded as friends and to this day I still remain in touch with a few of them, despite having known them for a very short period of time. In the United States, I was regarded as an equal and quite shockingly gained some respect as a foreign student. It was a nice change.

Year 7

The year that truly did it all. My vain side broke free from its chains and I propelled myself towards make up and clothes and hair products. Where I before had not worn make up and had kept my hair in a neat ponytail, I now began experimenting. It was not always very successful, but it helped me regain some of that which bullies had removed from me: the ability to see beauty in myself. For the first time in years, I could look in the mirror and say: ‘I look alright today.’ All of these changes, however, were nothing compared to the gift my mother gave me for my thirteenth birthday: contact lenses. After four years, I would finally be able to walk around without them and be able to see. Now all I had left were braces, which were so common at my school it hardly made a difference while I had them on. Of course, once they were removed the feeling of relief was tremendous. I returned back to my old city and my old environment a new person. That person would not remain that way, however.

Posted in: Backstory